USS Henrico (APA-45) Areas With Asbestos Exposure

The USS Henrico (APA-45) was a Bayfield-class attack transport launched on March 31, 1943. It was commissioned on November 26, the same year under Comdr. J. H. Willis’ command with the hull number APA-45 and it served in the US Navy for 25 years until it was decommissioned on February 14, 1968. During its activities, the ship carried a complement of 575 people on board and had its main missions in Portland, Napoli, Oran, Norfolk, Boston, Panama, San Diego, Pusan, Yokosuka, and Mekong Delta. After the decommissioning, the ship was struck from the Navy List on June 1, 1973, and sold to MARAD in 1979. For the services brought to the country during World War II, the USS Henrico (APA-45) received 3 battle stars, 9 battle stars, and a Navy Unit Commendation for the Korea activity, and another 1 campaign star for Vietnam.

Navy veterans have the highest rate of illnesses related to asbestos exposure. Until the 1980s the U.S. Navy relied heavily on asbestos, in shipbuilding, because it was affordable and had many qualities like heat resistance and a good insulator. If you or a family member served onboard the USS Henrico (APA-45) and developed serious asbestos-related health conditions, you may be entitled to compensation and VA benefits.

Questions about asbestos exposure? We can help!

Shipmates on USS Henrico (APA-45)

Joseph J. Ambrose

Hal Dodd Angell

Alvin Raymond Brooks

Roy Beattie Jr.

Buddy L. Bennett

Richard Ira Betts

Edward E. Bisely

Donald W. Bridgwood

Raymond Chester Brykczynski

Anthony J. Burns

Ensio Canetta

Kenneth William Cannestra

Anthony Cappiello

Leonard J. Challain

Alfred Eric Christiansen Jr.

John Robert Conlin

Edwin Lee Cornwell

Charles Wayne Crispin

Leo H. Dauer

Russell D. Dickens

Lee Stephen Dolson

John H. Eberly

Carol Dean Embree

Glover Trenholm Ferguson

Wilfred Joseph Forgette

Charles Francis Fry

Ralph Wallace Geiger

Lawrence Don Hagedorn

Charles Fred Ide

Everett R. Jones

Carlos Eugene McGlothren

David J. Raymond Murphy

Morton W. Russell

Alexander Michael Winkowski Jr.