USS President Hayes (APA-20) Areas With Asbestos Exposure

The USS President Hayes (APA-20) was a President Jackson-class attack transport laid down on December 26, 1939, and launched on October 4, the following year. It was commissioned on December 15, 1941, under Capt. F. W. Benson’s command with the hull number APA-20 and served in the US Navy for 8 years until it was decommissioned on June 30, 1949. During its activity, the ship carried a complement of 513 people on board and had its main missions in San Diego, Pearl Harbor, Tonga Islands, Cuba, New Zealand, New Caledonia, Rendova landings, Efate, Espiritu Santo, and Guam. After the decommissioning, the ship was struck from the Navy List on October 1, 1958, and sold for scrapping in 1973. For the services brought to the country during World War II, the USS President Hayes received 7 battle stars. Asbestos is a naturally occurring fibrous material valued for its resistance to heat, fire, and electricity. It contains millions of invisible, microscopic fibers that break off and become airborne, lodging in the lungs. The particles are sharp and cause grave damage to the lungs. By filing an asbestos claim, you can secure substantial financial compensation. This will allow you to pay your medical bills, as well as clear other debts you may have accumulated while ill.

Questions about asbestos exposure? We can help!

Shipmates on USS President Hayes (APA-20)

Fred Clifford Brewer

John S. Beserdetsky

George F. McGrath

Mason Boyd Dickens

Vasily Domoretsky

Maurice J. Edgington

Thomas W. Ehler

William B. Hukkanen

Gordon W. King

Ernest C. Kottkamp Jr.

Elvin M. Lee

Robert W. Nolan

Charles W. Norton

Dominic J. Romano

Ballard F. Smith

John F. Thellman

Richard Charles Trumper

Woodrow Wilson